top of page

The Conscious-Closet Clean-out


As I wanted to learn about sustainability and fashion, it seemed fitting to start with reading The Conscious Closet by Elizabeth Cline. She started the book by encouraging a “closet clean-out.” Since my Independent Study final project is to take old clothing and create new outfits, this closet clean-out seemed fitting for me to do. Before going to thrift stores or consignment stores, it seemed fitting to start in my own closet!

Elizabeth gave us some simple guidelines to follow when purging your closet: focus on in-season clothing, if you love it, keep it, ignore price, pay attention to what you wear most often and put sentimental items into storage. Keep going through this cycle and you will ultimately get an Impact Inventory.

This week I tried to start this (although I am currently at School and have some more to do at home). Doing this was a lot harder than I imagined. I always think about specific situations in which I would wear some pieces of clothes and think “what if,” but especially in COVID times, I don’t think these scenarios are occurring anytime soon.

The book also focuses on what to do with your clothes post clean-out… and in my situation I would use it to create something wearable! But for anyone else, it is important to investigate charities and foundations before you donate. Looking into the future, she recommends the art of less, or intentional consumption of fewer items of clothing. So as I continue to shop, thinking about building a functional and better quality wardrobe.

Another important topic is the art of science and good construction. This is especially important for my Independent Study project. She goes through different seams that directly correlate to production of the clothes itself.

This week I both went through my own closet to make it a conscious closet and you can too! I plan to use the clothing I no longer wear, and transform them into high fashion and something I am excited about. Similarly I went to a thrift store to search for some clothing and start designing a new sustainable wardrobe!


bottom of page