top of page

The Blue Devil Wears Thrifted Prada



In my last semester at Duke, I wanted to create something that I can bring with me into the future. I wanted to learn about a topic that I felt was important and I didn’t know much about: sustainability in fashion. All my life I have loved creating, learning and doing… especially in fashion. It has been an incredible journey and experience, and I know I will continue to learn and create through the rest of my life.



I learned an immense amount through the creation of my clothing. I took used, already worn clothes and remade them into new and trendy looks. It was definitely a learning process. I had a plan and ideas of what I wanted to create, but I quickly learned that you have to come up with ideas after finding the clothing. So that is what I did. I went to a thrift shop and got inspired by the clothing around me. From there I had ideas and turned them into a reality. And I loved doing it!



Also, I learned a lot through creating the blog and all of the moving parts that went along with it. I started by learning to create the website itself. This was great as I learned how to design a website and a blog, something that will help me with future projects and ideas as well. Writing the blog posts was a learning experience too. I learned that adding in links and pictures helps make posts more readable and enjoyable. I worked on linking the blog to both the Instagram and Pinterest account, showing me how important a cohesive brand is.

Going forward, I will take each lesson and continue to make a conscious effort to be sustainable in my every day life.




bottom of page